Fernando Radó

Fernando Javier Radó studied voice with Ricardo Yost. In 2006, he became the youngest member of the Colón Theatre choir and the Colón Theatre’s Superior Arts Institute, where he studied voice with Luis Gaeta, repertoire with Susana Frangi and chamber music with Guillermo Opitz.
Radó’s engagements for the 2015/16 season include Monterone in Rigoletto at Teatro Real de Madrid and Masetto in Don Giovanni at Opera National de Paris and Dutch National Opera. In the 2014/2015 season, he sang Masetto in Don Giovanni at Opera de Monte-Carlo and Opera National de Paris and Sir Giorgio in I Purtani at Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. In the 2012/2013 season, Radó made his Teatro alla Scala debut as Samuel in Un Ballo in Maschera, returning as the Friar in Don Carlo for the 2013/14 season. In 2013, he performed at Teatro Colón de Buenos Aires as the title role in Le Nozze di Figaro and Escamillo in Carmen. That same season, he performed as Goffredo in Il Pirata at the Teatro Liceu Barcelona.
At Teatro Real de Madrid, Radó has also performed as Le Duc in Romeo et Juliette, Roberto in I Vespri Siciliani, Heraldo/Orácule in Alceste, Sir Giorgio in I Puritani, and Raimondo in Lucia di Lammermoor. As a soloist, he made his debut in 2006 singing Sprecher Die Zauberflöte in the Avenida Theatre for the Juventus Lyrica Association, then Sparafucile Rigoletto, Le fauteuil/Un arbre L’enfant et les sortilèges and the Bonze Madama Butterfly. He also sang Raimondo Lucia di Lammermoor in Rome’s Avellaneda Theatre. In 2009, Radó performed in Der Rosenkavalier, Parsifal, Macbeth, Die Zauberflöte, Viva la Mamma and Mendelssohn’s Elijah in the Philharmonie under Seiji Ozawa.
Radó won second prize in the Neue Stimmen International Singing Competition in 2007 and was invited by the Deutsche Staatsoper Unter den Linden Berlin, supported by the Liz Mohn Foundation for Culture and Music, to sing as a soloist in Eugene Onegin with Rolando Villazón and René Pape, conducted by Daniel Barenboim. Fernando also won the Revelación 2007 prize given by the Argentine Music Critics Association.