Gershwin Theatre

The Gershwin Theatre is a Broadway theatre located in midtown-Manhattan in the Paramount Plaza building. The theatre is named after brothers George Gershwin, a composer, and Ira Gershwin, a lyricist. It has the largest seating capacity of any Broadway theatre, with 1,933 seats.
Designed in an Art Nouveau style by set designer Ralph Alswang, it is situated on the lower levels of a towering office complex built at an estimated cost of $12.5 million on the site of the historical Capitol Theatre. It opened as the Uris Theatre on November 28, 1972 (named for the building developer Uris Brothers) with the musical Via Galactica starring Raul Julia. It proved to be an inauspicious start for the venue, with the first show to lose a million dollars closing after only seven performances. From 1974-76 it served as a concert hall for limited engagements by a number of legendary pop music and jazz performers such as Seesaw; Gigi, Sammy Davis, Jr.; Andy Williams with Michel Legrand; Johnny Mathis; Anthony Newley with Henry Mancini; Queen, Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, and Count Basie
The Theare has been home to notable productions such as Porgy and Bess, produced by the Houston Grand Opera (1976); The King and I (1977); Sweeney Todd (1979) The Pirates of Penzance; My Fair Lady (1981); Annie (1982); Fiddler on the Roof (1990); Candide (1997) and Wicked (2003). 
The American Theatre Hall of Fame is located in the lobby.
During the 37th Tony Awards ceremony held June 5, 1983, the theatre was rechristened to honor the Gershwins.